IRMASAT Exam Pattern

IRMASAT is a computer-based test of 80 minutes duration carrying 40 objective type multiple choice questions (MCQs) on Issues of Social Concern section. The exam is based on General Awareness and topics covered under Issues of Social Concern.


Duration 80 minutes
Total Number of Sections 1
Total Number of Questions 40
Number of options 5
Marks per question 1
Negative marking for wrong question One fourth of the allotted marks
Mode Computer-based

Question Types and Exam Structure

Type of Questions No. of Questions
Paragraph Based 28
Paragraph Based Fill in the Blanks 3
Standalone 9
Total 40

Duration: The total duration of IRMASAT exam is 80 minutes. 

Marking Scheme: Each question carries one mark. There is a negative marking for each wrong answer, which will result in a deduction of one-fourth of the allotted marks. 

Number of questions: The total number of questions is 40. There are 28 paragraph based questions, 3 paragraph based fill in the blanks and 9 questions will be based on GK and Current Affairs.


The IRMASAT syllabus includes General Knowledge, current affairs and topics covered under Issues of Social Concern.

  • IRDP Schemes
  • Women-Oriented Schemes
  • Educational Initiatives of the Government
  • Short-Term Migration
  • Death due to Cold