IIFT Exam Pattern

The test is divided into six sections - Data Interpretation, Logical Reasoning, General Awareness, Verbal Ability, Reading Comprehension, and Quantitative Aptitude. The duration of the test is two hours and based on previous years’ pattern, the marking scheme for each section would be different.


Exam Duration 2 hours (120 minutes)
Exam Timing 10:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Exam Mode Offline
Number of Sections 6
Sectional Limit No
Total Number of Questions Not fixed
Type of Questions Objective (Multiple Choice Questions)
Total Marks 100
Negative Marking Yes

Section-wise Details

Sections Details
Section I Data Interpretation
Section II Logical Reasoning
Section III General Awareness
Section IV Verbal Ability
Section V Reading Comprehension
Section VI Quantitative Aptitude

Marking Scheme

Going with the previous years’ trends, the marking scheme for IIFT entrance exam is different for each section. For example, last year, in the Data Interpretation section, each question carried 0.75 marks, while in the Logical Reasoning, each question was assigned one mark. Whereas, negative marking scheme for each wrong response will suffer 1/3rd of the allotted marks.

Section-wise Marking Scheme

Section Section No. of Questions Marks per question Total Marks Negative Marks/question
I Data Interpretation 20 0.75 15 0.33
II Logical Reasoning 20 1 20 0.25
III General Awareness 18 0.5 9 0.17
IV Verbal Ability 20 1 20 0.33
V Reading Comprehension 16 1 16 0.33
VI Quantitative Aptitude 20 1 20 0.33
Total   114   100